

# SUTTON COLDFIELD EAST DISTRICT SCOUT COUNCIL

## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Friday 7th July 2023 19.30hrs at Dale Farm

Present - Please see attendance list

**1. Welcome** - The Chair of District welcomed all present and thanked everyone for attending.

2.Apologies were received from – Janet Keenan (8<sup>th</sup>), Mark Ellis (7<sup>th</sup>), Alan Underwood (WGSAS), All Trinity Explorer Leaders (on camp), Margaret Carrington (5<sup>th</sup> & District), Ann Millington (WGSAS), Alan Hurst (16th), Beth Winterbottom (Trinity ESU), Wayne Carr (8th), Dave Allen (County Chair), Julie Ellis (7th).

**3. Minutes of last meeting** - 8 July 2022 -There were no comments on the last minutes and they were therefore approved by those present as a correct record.

### 4. Governance Issues

**4a.** The Chair proposed the adoption of the model constitution for the District as set out in POR. This was seconded by Barry Brettele and passed unanimously by the meeting.

**4b.** The Chair asked members present to note that the Districts financial year is 1 April to 31 March.

**4c.** The outgoing Trustee Board had recommended that 5 people should be elected to the Trustee Board. The Chair proposed that the meeting approve this recommendation. This was seconded by Peter Corbett and approved by the meeting.

**4d.** The outgoing Trustee Board have recommended that the number of members deemed to be a quorum for meetings of the District Scout Council be set at 15. (It was noted that in excess of that number were present.) This was seconded by Marcus Harrington and approved by the meeting.

The quorum for Trustee Board Meetings (and any sub-committee meetings) was proposed at one third of the Trustee Board Members plus one. This is in accordance with the Charity Commission statement of Good Practice. This was seconded by Paul Gilmore and approved by the meeting.

### 5. Review of the previous year.

**5a.** The District Lead Volunteer (DC) gave a precis of his report as set out in the Annual Report document. He noted particularly that thanks were due to Maggie Carrington who had acted as ADC Beavers for the year as well as being the Beaver representative on the Trustee Board. He also thanked all members of the District for their efforts over the year to provide Scouting to so many young people.

The Chair thanked the DLV for his report.

**5b.** The Chair invited the meeting to receive and consider the Annual Report of the District Trustee Board and the Statement of Accounts. The District Treasurer referred the meeting to the brief report on the accounts contained in the Annual Report and gave a brief summary of them. The main item of expenditure over the past year had been financial support to the new groups.

There were no questions from the meeting in regard to the Trustee Report and Annual Statement of Accounts. The Chair thanked the Treasurer for her work over the past year.

### 6. Making Appointments

**6a.** The re-appointment of the District President, Mr Ken Rainsford and District Vice-President, Mr David Roy was proposed by the Chair and approved by the meeting.

**6b.** The Chair noted that other supporters may be admitted to the District Scout council in addition to the ex officio list in POR Rule 5.4.2. There were no nominations.

**6c.** The Chair handed the chairmanship of the meeting to the DLV(DC) Mr David Thebridge who nominated Dr. Karl Nightingale to be District Chair for the forthcoming year. This was overwhelmingly approved by those present.

**6d.** The Chair advised that Mr Ross Denning had been formally proposed and seconded for the post of District Secretary. Since there had been no other nominations the meeting approved the appointment.

**6e**. The Chair advised that Mrs Jacqui Archer had been formally proposed and seconded for the post of District Treasurer. Since there had been no other nominations the meeting approved the appointment

**6f.** The Chair advised the meeting that the following had been proposed and seconded to be elected members of the District Trustee Board.

David Evans – DDLV(DDC) Brian Stacey – ADC International and Elected Representative for Scouts Robert Smith – Elected Representative for Cubs Currently vacant – Elected Representative for Beavers Kelly Barnsley – Elected Representative for Explorers Marcus Harrington - Elected Representative for Explorers These were approved by the meeting by a show of hands.

**6g.** The DLV(DC)'s Nominations for the District Trustee Board were as follows:

Adam Hodson – ADC Scouts Nigel Worship – ADC Cubs Paul Gilmore – ADC Support Currently vacant- ADC Beavers Currently vacant – ADC Squirrels

The meeting approved the DVL(DC)'s Nominations

The Chair noted that Rohan Dodia was the current Youth Commissioner.

**6h.** Mr Colin Philpott has been proposed and seconded as Independent Examiner. His appointment was approved by a show of hands from the meeting.

**7. Comments by the County Representative** – The County Commissioner Mr Steve Thomas gave a short address in which he congratulated the District on providing Scouting to nearly 800 young people and thanked the leaders, DLV, ADC's and all involved in supporting the movement.

He made reference to the forthcoming transformation and noted they comprise not just the changes to trustee boards to comply with Charity Commission law but was about "bottom up "change to make the movement relevant to the current generation while retaining and promoting our core values. The new system should make the admin workload lighter so that leaders can get on with providing the programme to young people. He called on the members of the District Scout Council to become champions for the changes and to make them work and make a difference. He also advised that members should feedback any issues with the changes so that any necessary modifications could be incorporated.

**8. Any Other Business Previously Notified** – No other business had been notified nor was any raised from the floor.

**9. Presentations –** The DLV was pleased to be able to award Brian Stacey with his 30 years' service award. He also noted the award to Maggie Carrington who was unable to be present but the award would be made at the 5<sup>th</sup> SCE AGM next week.

The Nigel Speakman "Spook"- "Spirit of Scouting" award which is in the gift of the DLV was awarded to the 4th SCE who at the time were on their way to camp in the Peak District.

**10. Thanks and Close** – The Chair proposed a vote of thanks to Paul Gilmore and his family for the use of their garden and facilities and to the BBQ team, Marcus Harrington, Kelly Barnsley and Karl Woodcock and all those who had helped set up.

The District Chair then declared the formal part of the meeting closed.